

# ANNUAL REPORT

2017





The **Canadian Radiological Foundation (CRF)**, a charitable entity which is administratively supported by the CAR, has as its core mandate to promote the art and science of radiology through research and education.

# 2017-2018 CRF BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The CRF Board of Directors is elected by the members of the CRF at the Foundation's Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The CRF's 2017 AGM took place on April 22 in Montreal, Quebec. The 2017-2018 CRF Board members are:

Dr. Ian Hammond (President)



Dr. Raquel del Carpio-O'Donovan (Vice President)



Dr. Gregory Butler (Secretary-Treasurer)



Dr. Bruce Forster



Dr. Robert Sevick



# **2017 CRF PROJECTS**

# **Leadership Course in Radiology**

The CRF is proud to have partnered with the UBC Sauder School of Business and the CAR to develop a new and unique Leadership Course in Radiology. This course is designed to help radiologists develop their leadership skills and contribute to the future of radiology in Canada. The first module of this course *Optimizing Your Practice's Efficiency* was held on April 18-19, 2017 in Montreal.

Some of the feedback from participants included:

- "Great conference. The small group cases were helpful to apply what we learned."
- "Excellent course. Keep up the good work.
- "Really excellent, valuable, and value-added course. Dr. Frank Lexa was superb."
- "Great meeting. Dr. Nagarajan was the real highlight. Thanks for putting this together!"



Canadian Association of Radiologists L'Association canadienne des radiologistes

The **Canadian Radiological Foundation** 





#### **Faculty Members**

We would like to acknowledge Dr. Bruce Forster, member of the CRF Board, for spearheading this project and seeing it to fruition. We would also like to thank the other faculty members for their expertise and contributions.

Faculty members of the Leadership in Radiology course (left to right):

Drs. Bruce Forster, Robyn Cairns, Frank Lexa, Mahesh Nagarajan, and Daniel Skarlicki











# **Leadership Scholarships**

Since 2015, the CRF, in partnership with the CAR, has instituted the Leadership Scholarships to be awarded yearly. The scholarships are open to CAR members and offer selected participants an opportunity to acquire or develop the leadership skills radiologists need to advance their careers and the profession, and to play a meaningful role in shaping the future of healthcare.

In 2017, the scholarships were awarded to three deserving candidates to attend the first module of the Radiology Leadership Course.

Winners of the Leadership Scholarships (left to right):

Drs. Kirsteen Burton (Resident, University of Toronto), Faisal Khosa (Assistant Professor, Vancouver General Hospital), and Carlos Torres (Associate Professor, University of Ottawa)







# **Research Project**

The CRF partially funded the research project, Adaptive Personalized Predictive Risk Model for Medical Imaging Radiation Exposure by **Dr. David Koff, McMaster University**.



#### **CAR ASM Contest Prizes**

The CRF continues to support the CAR Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) Contests as part of its efforts to recognize and honour the work of Canadian radiologists and radiologists-in-training in advancing radiology research. The CRF was pleased to fund the prizes for the following CAR ASM contests presented at the **CAR Annual Scientific Meeting** held in Montreal in April 2017.

#### **Departmental Clinical Audit**

- First place: Mitchell Wilson University of Alberta (right)

  PICA and pericallosal artery origin inclusion in magnetic resonance angiography
  with time-of-flight technique for aneurysm screening and surveillance
- Second place: Tetyana Maniuk University of Ottawa (left)
   Quality Initiative Project assessing the impact of TIRADS on net number of thyroid biopsies and adherence of TIRADS-reporting by radiologists

# Chell Wilson – University of Alberta

# **Radiologists-in-Training**

- First place: Jessica Common Memorial University of Newfoundland (right)
  - Reducing Wait-Time for Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment: Impact of a Multidisciplinary, Centralized Referral Program
- Second place: Naoya Shatani University of British Columbia
  The relevance of abdominal radiographs in the evaluation of children with
  coin ingestion
- Third place: Andrew D. Brown University of Toronto (centre)
   Automating Medical Imaging Protocol Selection: A Feasibility Study of Machine Learning in Quality and Safety



#### **Educational Exhibits**

- First place: Fahad Essbaiheen and Carlos Torres University of Ottawa
   The Lumbosacral Dural Sac: Imaging Anatomy and Pathology
- Second place: Parikh Kushal University of Michigan
  Capital equipment procurement process at a quaternary academic center: a resident's perspective
- Third place: Klaudia Jumaa Western University Breast Side Story: Secrets Told by Mammography

#### **Scientific Exhibits**

- First place: Tracee Wee University of British Columbia (left)
  Predictive value of selective ultrasound screening for Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip performed at a single institution
- Second place: Rebecca Spouge and Kathryn Darras University of British Columbia (centre)
   Identifying the Challenges with Radiology Electives: Student and Faculty

Experiences at a Large Distributed Medical School

• Third place: Amar Suchak – University of Calgary
Ultrasound in the Diagnosis of Carpal Tunnel Syndrome: A Practical Approach



# 2017 Donations

The CRF would like to sincerely thank all its funders for their donations over the years. Their contributions have allowed the CRF to develop projects and initiatives which otherwise would not have been possible. This year, we have awarded a CRF pin to our patrons and benefactors as a small token of our appreciation for their contributions.



Total Donations received: \$11,100

- Friend (up to \$199): \$6,700
- Supporter (\$200 to \$499): \$2,200
- Patron (\$500 to \$999): \$2,200
- Benefactor (\$1,000 and above): \$0

Donors who have given the CRF permission to recognize them publicly:

Jimmy Ghostine William Miller Michael Barry Thierry Baudot Ian Hammond Bruno Morin Danny Bélanger Connie Hapgood Amol Mujoomdar Etienne Blain Paré Angus Hartery Michael O'Keeffe David Lautner Angela Pickles Dean Bruce Jeffrey Chankowsky Jacques Lévesque Silma Solorzano Patricia Tomnev Joseph Chin Daniel Lindsav **Robert Davies** André Lisbona David Vickar **Edward Lyons** Vivek Virmani René Desmarais Nancy Wadden Luiga Di Primio Deborah Mabin Yong Dong Wang Dale Doran Connor Maguire **Edward Whelan** Marie-Lucie Dovon Matthew McInnes Karen Finlay John Menzies Carl Zylak Carolyn Flegg Stephen Miller

For more information on the CRF or to submit a request for funding consideration, please visit the **CRF website**.