Computerized Physician Order Entry (CPOE) Projects

When the CAR’s referral guidelines are integrated seamlessly into the healthcare workflow, physicians are better able to order the best test first. This helps prevent unnecessary procedures, reduces wait times, and leads to better outcomes for the patient.

That's why the CAR has worked with a healthcare technology company to incorporate the CAR referral guidelines into an innovative computerized clinical decision support tool. The tool connects with a computerized physician order entry (CPOE) system that physicians use to enter clinical information about a patient and request imaging exams. The CPOE system automatically alerts physicians when the exam they have ordered does not comply with the CAR’s Diagnostic Imaging Referral Guidelines and recommends the appropriate procedure.

In addition, the CAR has partnered with governments and other organizations to find and promote new ways to incorporate imaging guidelines into healthcare systems and to educate physicians on the value of imaging guidelines.

Read the Results

The CPOE system has been pilot-tested in a children’s hospital and a family practice clinic. Click here to read a summary of the pilot tests.

Système informatique de saisie des commandes du médecin (CPOE)

Lorsque les lignes directrices nationales de la CAR sont intégrées de façon transparente au déroulement du travail de l’équipe de soins de santé, les médecins sont mieux en mesure de prescrire le bon examen du premier coup. Cette façon de faire élimine les interventions inutiles, réduit les temps d’attente et produit de meilleurs résultats pour le patient.

La CAR s’est donc associée à une entreprise de technologie de la santé pour intégrer ses lignes directrices à un outil novateur d’aide informatisée à la décision clinique. L’outil se branche à un système informatique de saisie des commandes du médecin dans lequel les médecins entrent des données cliniques sur les patients et commandent des examens d’imagerie. Le système avise automatiquement les médecins lorsque l’examen prescrit ne respecte pas les lignes directrices en imagerie diagnostique de la CAR et leur recommande l’intervention appropriée.

En outre, la CAR collabore avec les gouvernements et d’autres organisations pour trouver et promouvoir diverses façons d’intégrer ses lignes directrices aux systèmes de soins de santé et communiquer aux médecins l’utilité des lignes directrices.
    

Les résultats

Le système CPOE a été mis à l’essai dans le cadre d’un projet pilote dans un hôpital pour enfants et un centre de médecine familiale. Cliquez ici pour lire le compte rendu des essais.