Advanced Cardiac Life Support for Radiologists (ACLS-r)

April 12-13, 2016

Agenda

 

Flyer

 

Registration is now closed.

 

Code Blue! What do you do when a patient suffers cardiopulmonary arrest during a radiological exam? Take the CAR ACLS-r course to learn what to do (and what not to do) when every second counts!  


Course Overview

ACLS-r is a unique and highly sought-after simulation workshop offering radiologists the opportunity to improve their practical skills when dealing with patients who suffer cardiac or cardiopulmonary arrest in a radiology setting.

Designed by radiologists for radiologists, this course specifically targets the needs of practitioners with respect to ACLS management and teaches the skills necessary to provide crucial care to patients in life-threatening situations.

Workshop participants put what they have learned into practice right away using high-tech specialized mannequins. Sessions are led by accredited instructors in small groups of eight or less, allowing for plenty of hands-on practice and individual instruction time.

New for 2016 are workshop and simulation sessions focusing on sedation, its potential complications and critical emergency responses for optimal results.

ACLS-r takes place at Le Centre Sheraton Montreal on the evening of April 12 and at the state-of-the-art simulation-based training centre located at the Université de Montréal throughout the day on April 13.

The course is offered in English and in French. Participants who successfully complete this course receive ACLS certification in accordance to the Canadian Heart and Stroke Foundation.

Radiologists are the specific target audience for this activity. The ACLS course for radiologists is developed as a result of the CAR membership’s request, via previous event survey responses.

 

Learning Objectives

At the end of this course, participants should be able to:

  1. Recognize and initiate early management of conditions that may result in cardiac arrest or complicate the resuscitation outcome. (CanMEDS Roles: Medical Expert, Communicator, Manager)
  2. Demonstrate proficiency in providing Basic Life Support care, including providing effective chest compressions and integrating AED use. (CanMEDS Roles: Medical Expert, Collaborator, Communicator)
  3. Manage cardiac arrest until return of spontaneous circulation (ROSC), termination of resuscitation, or transfer of care. (CanMEDS Roles: Medical Expert, Collaborator, Manager)
  4. Identify and treat patients with acute coronary syndromes. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Medical Expert)
  5. Recognize life-threatening situations such as anaphylactic reactions, and provide effective initial care and transfer to reduce disability and death. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Medical Expert)
  6. Demonstrate effective communication as a member of a resuscitation team and recognize the impact of team dynamics on overall team performance. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Collaborator)
  7. Recognize the predictors for potential airway complications, select patients based on these factors and mobilize the required resources for safe sedation. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Medical Expert, Manager, Collaborator)
  8. Manage the situation of a patient in a stable or unstable ventricular tachycardia and supraventricular tachycardia. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Medical Expert, Collaborator)
  9. Manage the situation of a patient in PEA and identify the reversible causes. (CanMEDS Roles: Communicator, Medical Expert, Collaborator)

 

Accreditation

The Advanced Cardiac Life Support for Radiologists (ACLS-r) course is an Accredited Simulation Activity (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program (MOC) of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC), and has been approved by the Canadian Association of Radiologists (CAR) for a maximum of 10.25 hours. The RCPSC recording system will automatically convert the credit hours for this event to three credits per claimed hour (10.25 hours x 3 = 30.75 credit-hours). Physicians should only claim credits commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

 

Registration Rates (Deadline to Register: March 10, 2016)

Member of the CAR  $745
Non Member  $865

 

Sister Events

Soins avancés en réanimation cardiorespiratoire pour les radiologistes (SARC/ACLS-r)

les 18 et 19 avril 2017

Sommaire du programme

 

Feuillet

 

 

 

Code bleu! Que faire si un patient est victime d'un arrêt cardiopulmonaire lors d’un examen radiologique? Inscrivez-vous au cours de SARC/ACLS-r de la CAR pour apprendre quoi faire (et quoi ne pas faire) lorsque chaque seconde compte!  


Aperçu de la formation

Le SARC/ACLS-r est un atelier de simulation unique très recherché qui permet aux radiologistes d’améliorer leurs compétences pratiques lorsqu’il s’agit de réanimer les patients victimes d’arrêt cardiaque ou cardiopulmonaire dans un contexte radiologique.

Conçu par des radiologistes pour les radiologistes, le cours cible les besoins des praticiens en matière de gestion des soins avancés en réanimation cardiorespiratoire et enseigne les aptitudes nécessaires pour assurer la prestation de soins essentiels aux patients en situation où leur vie est menacée.

Des exercices sur des mannequins spécialisés de pointe permettent aux participants de mettre immédiatement en pratique les acquis. Le cours est donné par des formateurs accrédités. La formation en petits groupes de huit personnes ou moins permet aux formateurs d’organiser de nombreuses activités pratiques et de consacrer du temps à chaque participant.

 

La formation SARC/ACLS-r aura lieu au Centre Sheraton de Montréal le 18 avril en soirée, et au Centre de formation et de simulation ultramoderne de l’Université de Montréal le 19 avril toute la journée.

L'atelier est offert en français et en anglais. Les participants ayant terminé la formation avec succès reçoivent un certificat de SARC/ACLS-r reconnu par la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada.

La formation SARC/ACLS-r, conçue spécifiquement pour les radiologistes, est offerte suite à la demande faite par les membres de la CAR par le biais de sondages et d’évaluations de nos événements.

 

Objectifs d'apprentissage

À l’issue de la formation, les participants devraient être en mesure de :

  1. Reconnaître et initier un traitement rapide des conditions qui peuvent conduire à un arrêt cardiaque ou compliquer le résultat de la réanimation. (Rôles CanMEDS : expert médical, communicateur, gestionnaire)
  2. Démontrer des compétences dans la prestation des soins de base (BLS), y compris les compressions thoraciques efficaces et l’utilisation du DEA. (Rôles CanMEDS : expert médical, collaborateur, communicateur)
  3. Gérer l’arrêt cardiaque jusqu’au retour de la circulation spontanée, la fin de la réanimation, ou le transfert de soins. (Rôles CanMEDS : expert médical, collaborateur, gestionnaire)
  4. Identifier et traiter des patients atteints de syndromes coronariens aigus. (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical)
  5. Reconnaître les situations qui menacent la vie telles que les réactions anaphylactiques et fournir les soins initiaux efficaces et le transfert de manière à réduire les complications et le décès. (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical)
  6. Démontrer une communication efficace en tant que membre d’une équipe de réanimation et reconnaître l’impact de la dynamique de l’équipe sur les performances globales de l’équipe. (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, collaborateur)
  7. Identifier les facteurs prédictifs de complications respiratoires au cours de la sédation, sélectionner les patients en fonction de ces facteurs et adapter les ressources pour une sédation sécuritaire. (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical, gestionnaire, collaborateur)
  8. Gérer la situation d’un patient stable ou instable en tachycardie ventriculaire et supraventriculaire. (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical, collaborateur)
  9. Gérer la situation d’un patient en AESP et identifier les causes réversibles.  (Rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical, collaborateur)

 

Autres événements à Montréal :