CHAR Development Awards

Following the closure of the Sterling Winthrop Imaging Research Institute, administration of the residual funds was entrusted to the Canadian Heads of Academic Radiology (CHAR) for the development of a programme which would provide peer reviewed grants for radiological research in academic departments.

Since a limited number of applications will be accepted for review each year, each department may hold a local competition to determine which applications may be submitted to the annual national competition. Departments who have submitted successful applications support the concept by fully matching CHAR’s contribution.

Industry support was sought to augment the available funds and the Norwegian company Nycomed stepped forward and generously agreed to provide the required support. This relationship, for which CHAR is very grateful, has continued since the 1997 launch of the programme. Nycomed became Amersham, and Amersham was integrated into GE Healthcare.

CHAR’s aim is to assist radiologists with research projects that will enhance scholarship and academic departments of radiology. Generally this will be seed money for projects that show promise for future application to major granting agencies such as the CIHR.

In addition, one grant is reserved each year for travel by a qualifying applicant to learn a clinical or research technique that will be required to carry out a later pilot study.

Bourses de formation de la CHAR

Lorsque l’Institut de recherche en imagerie Sterling Winthrop a fermé ses portes, la CHAR a reçu le mandat d’administrer les fonds résiduels et d’élaborer un programme de subventions de projets de recherche en radiologie évalués par les pairs et destiné aux départements de radiologie.

Comme un nombre restreint de demandes est étudié chaque année, les départements peuvent organiser localement un concours visant à déterminer quelles propositions devraient être soumises au concours national annuel. Les départements dont les candidatures sont retenues fournissent une contribution équivalente à celle de la CHAR.

Le soutien de l’industrie a été sollicité pour accroître les fonds disponibles, et l’entreprise norvégienne Nycomed a généreusement offert une aide financière. Cette collaboration, que la CHAR apprécie grandement, se poursuit depuis le lancement du programme en 1997. Nycomed est depuis devenue Amersham avant d’être intégrée au groupe GE Healthcare.

La CHAR a pour objectif d’aider financièrement les radiologistes dont les projets de recherche enrichiront l’activité savante et l’enseignement au sein des départements de radiologie. La CHAR verse généralement les fonds nécessaires au lancement de projets prometteurs qui pourront ensuite être soumis à de grands organismes subventionnaires de recherche comme les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC).

Par ailleurs, une subvention par année est destinée à financer les frais de voyage d’un candidat pour lui permettre d’acquérir une technique clinique ou de recherche nécessaire à la réalisation d’une étude pilote.