Canada Safe Imaging

CSI logo bil

 

Medical imaging technologies and techniques continue to evolve rapidly and while providing unprecedented visibility into the body, their use mean exposure of patients to ionizing radiation. This is an area requiring attention in Canada.

To address the need for a national strategy and action plan relating to radiation safety for medical imaging care in Canada, a coalition of key stakeholders is being formed, called Canada Safe Imaging. Canada Safe Imaging will be formally launched in the months ahead with invitations to participate to include agencies, professional associations, universities, colleges, national research institutions and hospitals.

One impetus for this new Canadian initiative was to align with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the World Health Organization (WHO) initiative, supported by 77 countries and 16 organizations, titled the “Bonn Call-for-Action,” which outlines 10 major strategies for promoting radiation protection.

The delivery of health care is a provincial responsibility but a focused national strategy and a unified effort is needed to ensure radiation safety in medical imaging for all Canadians. Canada Safe Imaging will develop awareness and adoption of current and emerging radiation patient protection strategies for Canadians and, amongst other activities, promote needed research.

The Canadian Association of Radiologists is currently one of the organizations contributing to the development of Canada Safe Imaging, and is pleased to be engaged in this important initiative for patient safety as it gains momentum.

Look for more information on Canada Safe Imaging coming your way in the months ahead.

Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada

CSI logo bil

 

Les technologies et les techniques d’imagerie médicale évoluent rapidement. Ces progrès se traduisent non seulement par des images d’une précision sans précédent, mais aussi par l’exposition des patients au rayonnement ionisant. Le Canada doit se pencher sur cette question.

Une coalition d’intervenants importants, baptisée Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada, est en train d’être formée en vue d’établir une stratégie pancanadienne et un plan d’action relatifs à la radioprotection dans le cadre des soins d’imagerie médicale au pays. La mise sur pied d’Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada sera annoncée officiellement au cours des prochains mois. Des organismes, des associations professionnelles, des universités, des collèges, des instituts de recherche nationaux et des hôpitaux seront invités à y prendre part.

Une des raisons d’être de la coalition est l’harmonisation avec l’initiative Bonn Call-for-Action de l’Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique  et de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, qui bénéficie de l’appui de 77 pays et 16 organisations et décrit 10 grandes stratégies de protection contre les rayonnements.

La prestation des soins de santé est une responsabilité provinciale, mais une stratégie nationale et un effort concerté sont nécessaires pour assurer la protection des patients et du personnel d’imagerie médicale. La coalition Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada informera les Canadiens des stratégies de protection actuelles et émergentes et en favorisera l’adoption. Elle fera également la promotion de la recherche – grandement nécessaire – dans ce domaine.

L’Association canadienne des radiologistes fait partie des organismes qui participent à la mise sur pied d’Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada. Elle est ravie de prendre part à cette importante initiative pour la sécurité des patients.

Restez à l’affût pour les toutes dernières nouvelles au sujet d’Imagerie Sécuritaire Canada au cours des prochains mois.