2017 Annual Scientific Meeting

CAR 2017 Agenda CAR 2017 Flyer

 

Join us in Montreal for the Canadian Association of Radiologists' 80th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM), Radiology Care: A Value-Driven Approach. Attended for its scientific program and the opportunity to connect with colleagues from across Canada, this will be the premier Canadian radiology event of the year. The ASM will be taking place from April 20 to 23, 2017, at Le Centre Sheraton in Montreal, Quebec.

Covering a broad range of subjects designed for both practicing radiologists and radiology residents, the ASM Working Group is preparing a dynamic scientific program articulated around appropriateness and the use of advanced equipment and tools to help guide therapeutic decision-making and help improve clinical outcome.

The didactic lectures, panel discussions and hands-on workshop provide a wide variety of formats to enhance every participant’s learning experience.


Dynamic Speakers

Featuring an impressive roster of national and international speakers, the comprehensive program will cover pertinent topics for today’s radiologists and radiologists-in-training. The CAR is proud to be hosting the following keynote speakers:

Dr. Brian Goldman
Host of the award-winning current affairs CBC radio series, White Coat, Black Art
Emergency Physician at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto

Dr. Mayank Goyal
Professor at the Department of Radiology and Clinical Neurosciences at the University of Calgary
Director of Imaging and Endovascular Treatment at the Calgary Stroke Program

Dr. Ellen Chung
Chief of Pediatric Imaging at the American Institute for Radiologic Pathology in Maryland, USA
Vice Chair for the Department of Radiology and Radiologic Sciences and Associate Professor of Radiology and Pathology, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences


Exceptional Scientific Program

In seeking to provide patients with optimal healthcare experiences and outcomes, radiologists seek to deliver proficient services in a timely manner and with the most appropriate and advanced equipment and tools. The 2017 ASM will touch on new technologies, how to integrate them thoughtfully, and how to use imaging to help guide therapeutic decision making to help improve clinical outcomes. These are topics that Canadian radiologists have expressed an interest in learning more about at past events.


Innovative Simulation Workshop

HRCT of the Chest – A hands-on practical workshop of diffuse lung disease
Based on membership feedback, this year’s annual interactive workshop will be dedicated to diffuse and interstitial lung disease. This half-day hands-on CT workshop can accommodate up to 40 participants. Designed for practicing radiologists, this course will focus on practical problem-solving for the general radiologist.

Short high-impact didactic sessions will be followed by hands-on review of complete image files. With a five-to-one participant to faculty ratio, and plenty of image workstations, participants will be able to simulate real case-reporting with the benefit of individualised instructor feedback. The instructors – all fellowship-trained thoracic radiologists at academic centres – will share strategies for the interpretation of difficult imaging patterns, summarize recent updates in interstitial lung disease, and review new recommendations.

The simulation workshop will take place during the morning of Saturday April 22, 2017. To attend, you must sign up for it during the ASM registration process. The cost of the workshop is $100, which is donated to the Canadian Radiological Foundation on the attendee's behalf.
Space is limited and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis.

Learning objectives

At the end of the workshop the participant should be able to:

  1. Explain high-resolution CT technique and protocols available for imaging of diffuse lung diseases
  2. Apply pattern recognition and distribution of findings in the HRCT diagnosis of diffuse lung diseases
  3. Diagnose the most common cystic, nodular and fibrotic interstitial lung diseases


Lively Social Events

Beginning on Thursday evening, the ASM social events are always widely-anticipated. This year, the CAR welcomes guest speaker Dr. Brian Goldman, host of the CBC radio series, White Coat, Black Art, to the opening cocktail reception. Other social events include:

  • 80th Anniversary Celebration Cocktail
  • Reception for Radiologists-in-Training, hosted by the President of the CAR
  • Wine & Cheese Reception and Awards Ceremony, including presentation of the new CAR Distinguished Career Achievement Award


2017 CAR ASM Contests

The CAR will hold the following four contests as part of the ASM:

Click here for more information on the contests.
Additional details on submitting an abstract may be found on the Call for Abstracts FAQ page.

Abstract submission deadline: January 17, 2017, 11:59 p.m. EST


Sister Events Also Taking Place in Montreal

April 18-19: Advanced Cardiac Life Support for Radiologists (ACLS-r)

April 18-19: CAR/CRF/UBC Sauder Leadership Course


ASM Overall Learning Objectives

  1. Recognize the importance of multidisciplinary consultation in the diagnosis of diffuse lung diseases. (CanMEDS roles: Collaborator, Medical Expert)
  2. Discuss imaging and treatment of acute ischemic, hemorrhagic stroke and decision making for brain death. (CanMEDS roles: Communicator, Medical Expert)
  3. Describe the key elements of reporting rectal cancer MRI, prostate MRI, and hepatic CT/MR necessary to enhance the value of these studies for clinicians and improve patient care. (CanMEDS roles: Collaborator, Medical Expert)
  4. Optimize the technique for bowel and polytrauma imaging in emergency setting. (CanMEDS roles: Medical Expert, Collaborator)
  5. Identify strategies to engage in academic activities and contribute to the academic life of a Radiology department. (CanMEDS role: Scholar)
  6. Identify leading-edge innovations in breast imaging that are having a positive impact on patient centered care. – (CanMEDS role: Health Advocate)
  7. Define the role and utilization of advanced technology in clinical imaging. (CanMEDS roles: Communicator, Leader)
  8. Discuss the opportunities of big data and artificial intelligence to improve on the diagnostic performance and predictive value of imaging (CanMEDS roles: Health Advocate, Scholar)
  9. Discuss how imaging can help inform therapeutic decision making that help improve outcomes (CanMEDS roles: Health Advocate, Leader)
  10. Detect, describe, diagnose and provide disposition recommendations for a wide variety of chest and cardiac findings as seen on x-ray, CT and MRI. (CanMEDS roles: Medical Expert, Scholar)
  11. Identify and avoid common blind spots and recognize and avoid common misinterpretations in each of the following subspecialties: Cardiac, MSK, Emergency Radiology, GU/GI, Neuroradiology and Vascular Pathology (CanMEDS roles: Professional, Scholar)
  12. Discuss the importance of radiologists maintaining an active role on clinical teams. (CanMEDS roles: Collaborator, Health Advocate, Leader, Professional)
  13. Discuss the changes that have occurred in imaging over the last 2 decades to help inform an understanding of the changes that may be coming. (CanMEDS roles: Health Advocate, Leader, Professional)
  14. Apply a value-based strategy to the radiological management of thoracic disease in the adult and pediatric population. (CanMEDS roles: Collaborator, Health Advocate, Medical Expert)

 

 

Notice

No responsibility is assumed by the CAR for any injury and/or damage to persons or property as a matter of products liability, negligence or otherwise, or from any use or operation of any methods, products, instructions or ideas contained in materials distributed or described during presentations throughout the CAR 80th Annual Scientific Meeting. Because of rapid advances in the medical sciences, in particular, independent verification of diagnoses and drug dosages should be made.

Although all advertising material on location and in print is expected to conform to ethical medical standards, inclusion in this event does not constitute a guarantee or endorsement of the quality or value of such product or of the claims made of it by its manufacturer and representatives.

Congrès annuel 2017

Le 80e Congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR aura lieu du 20 au 23 avril 2017 au Centre Sheraton à Montréal au Québec. Le thème de l’événement sera « Les soins de radiologie : une approche axée sur la valeur des services ».

Le groupe de travail du CSA de la CAR prépare un programme scientifique dynamique et opportun s’articulant autour des notions complémentaires de la pertinence et de l’utilisation d’équipement et d’outils de pointe pour guider la prise de décisions thérapeutiques et aider à améliorer les résultats cliniques.


Conférenciers dynamiques

Mettant à l’honneur de prestigieux conférenciers du Canada et d’ailleurs, le programme exhaustif abordera des sujets qui touchent les radiologistes actuels et les radiologistes en formation. Nous nous réjouissons d’accueillir les conférenciers d'honneur suivants:

Dr Brian Goldman
Animateur de la série d’actualité primée White Coat, Black Art de la CBC Radio
Urgentologue à l’hôpital Mount Sinai de Toronto

Dr Mayank Goyal
Professeur au département de radiologie et de neurosciences cliniques de l’Université de Calgary
Directeur de l’imagerie et des traitements endovasculaires du Calgary Stroke Program

Dre Ellen Chung
Chef du département d’imagerie pédiatrique de l’American Institute for Radiologic Pathology du Maryland (États-Unis)
Vice-présidente du département de radiologie et de sciences radiologiques et professeure agrégée en radiologie et pathologies de la Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences


Programme scientifique d’exception

Dans le but de fournir aux patients des soins de santé et des résultats optimaux, les radiologistes ont à cœur d’offrir des services efficaces en temps opportun, avec de l’équipement et des outils de pointe. Le Congrès scientifique annuel (CSA) 2017 s’articulera autour du thème des nouvelles technologies et de leur intégration réfléchie, ainsi que de l’utilisation de l’imagerie pour orienter la prise de décisions thérapeutiques et améliorer les résultats cliniques. Les radiologistes canadiens avaient exprimé le désir d’en apprendre davantage sur ces sujets lors des congrès précédents.


La TDM thoracique à haute résolution : un atelier pratique sur les pneumopathies diffuses

À la suite des commentaires de ses membres, la CAR est heureuse d’annoncer que l’atelier interactif de cette année sera consacré aux pneumopathies diffuses et interstitielles. Cet atelier pratique d’une demi-journée sur la TDM peut accueillir jusqu’à 40 participants. Conçu pour les radiologistes praticiens, le cours mettra l’accent sur la résolution de problèmes concrets du radiologiste généraliste.

De courtes conférences didactiques à fort impact seront suivies d’études de cas pratiques à partir de fichiers d’images complets. Grâce à un ratio de cinq participants par professeur et aux nombreux postes d’évaluation d’images, les participants pourront simuler la production de rapports à partir de cas réels en profitant des commentaires personnalisés d’un formateur. Les formateurs - tous des radiologistes thoraciques ayant bénéficié d’une formation postdoctorale dans un centre universitaire - donneront des stratégies pour l’interprétation des images complexes, résumeront les récentes percées touchant les pneumopathies interstitielles et passeront en revue les nouvelles recommandations.

L’atelier de simulation aura lieu le matin du samedi 22 avril 2017. Il est possible de s’inscrire à l’atelier au moment de l’inscription en ligne au Congrès. Les participants sont tenus de verser un don de 100 $ à la Fondation radiologique canadienne (FRC) pour prendre part à cet atelier. Un reçu officiel sera remis. Le nombre de places est limité afin de maximiser la participation et de rehausser l’expérience d’apprentissage – inscrivez-vous à l’avance afin de garantir votre place!

Objectifs d’apprentissage

À la fin de l’atelier, les participants seront en mesure :

  1. d’expliquer la technique et les protocoles de tomodensitométrie de haute résolution en place pour l’imagerie des pneumopathies diffuses;
  2. d’appliquer la reconnaissance des schémas et la répartition des résultats aux diagnostics de TDM-HR pour les pneumopathies diffuses; 
  3. de diagnostiquer les pneumopathies interstitielles kystiques, nodulaires et fibreuses les plus courantes.


Des activités sociales emballantes

Les activités sociales du CSA commenceront dès jeudi soir et sont toujours très attendues. Cette année, le cocktail d’ouverture de la CAR sera marqué par une conférence du Dr Brian Goldman, animateur de la série radio White Coat, Black Art à la CBC. Aperçu des autres activités sociales :

  • soirée cocktail du 80e anniversaire;
  • réception réservée aux radiologistes en formation, animée par le président de la CAR;
  • soirée vins et fromages et remise de prix, notamment le nouveau Prix d’excellence de la CAR pour une éminente carrière.


Concours du Congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR de 2017

La CAR organisera les quatre concours suivants dans le cadre du Congrès :

Cliquez ici pour de plus amples renseignements sur les concours.
Des précisions supplémentaires sur la méthode pour soumettre un résumé sont disponibles à la page FAQ sur les appels de communications.

Date butoir pour la soumission des communications : le 17 janvier 2017, 11:59 heure normale de l'Est.

 

Événements en marge du Congrès


Objectifs d’apprentissage généraux du 80e Congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR

À l’issue du Congrès, les participants devraient être en mesure de:

  1. Reconnaître l’importance de la consultation multidisciplinaire pour le diagnostic des pneumopathies diffuses (rôles CanMEDS : collaborateur, expert médical)
  2. Discuter de l’imagerie et du traitement des AVC aigus ischémiques hémorragiques et de la prise de décisions liées à la mort cérébrale (rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, expert médical)
  3. Décrire les éléments clés nécessaires dans les rapports d’IRM pour les cancers du rectum, d’IRM de la prostate et de TDM et IRM du foie pour renforcer la valeur de ces examens pour les cliniciens et améliorer les soins aux patients (rôles CanMEDS : collaborateur, expert médical)
  4. Optimiser la technique d’imagerie relative aux intestins et aux polytraumatismes dans un contexte d’urgence (rôles CanMEDS – expert médical, collaborateur)
  5. Établir des stratégies pour participer aux activités du milieu universitaire et contribuer à la vie scolaire d’un département de radiologie (rôle CanMEDS : érudit)
  6. Déterminer les innovations de pointe en imagerie du sein qui ont des retombées positives pour les soins centrés sur le patient (rôle CanMEDS : promoteur de la santé)
  7. Définir le rôle et l’utilisation de la technologie de pointe en imagerie clinique (rôles CanMEDS : communicateur, leader)
  8. Discuter des possibilités offertes par les mégadonnées et l’intelligence artificielle pour améliorer l’efficacité diagnostique et la valeur prédictive de l’imagerie (rôles CanMEDS : promoteur de la santé, érudit)
  9. Discuter de la façon dont l’imagerie peut aider à prendre des décisions thérapeutiques qui amélioreront les résultats (rôles CanMEDS : promoteur de la santé, leader)
  10. Détecter, décrire et diagnostiquer une grande variété de résultats de radiographies, de TDM et d’IRM thoraciques et cardiaques et faire des recommandations concernant la disposition des images (rôles CanMED : expert médical, érudit)
  11. Cerner et éviter les zones d’ombre courantes, ainsi que reconnaître et éviter les erreurs d’interprétation courantes propres à chacune des sous-spécialités suivantes : radiologie cardiaque, musculosquelettique et d’urgence, imagerie abdominale (ou génito-urinaire et gastro-intestinale), neuroradiologie et affections vasculaires (rôles CanMEDS : professionnel, érudit)
  12. Discuter de l’importance du rôle actif des radiologistes au sein des équipes cliniques (rôles CanMEDS : collaborateur, promoteur de la santé, leader, professionnel)
  13. Discuter des changements des 20 dernières années en imagerie pour aider à orienter et à comprendre les changements à venir (rôles CanMEDS : promoteur de la santé, leader, professionnel)
  14. Adopter une stratégie fondée sur les valeurs pour la prise en charge radiologique des maladies thoraciques chez les patients adultes et pédiatriques (rôles CanMEDS : collaborateur, promoteur de la santé, expert médical)

Avis

La CAR ne saurait en aucune façon être tenue responsable pour tout préjudice ou dommage aux personnes ou aux biens découlant du fait des produits, de la négligence ou autre, ou encore de l’utilisation ou de l’application de produits, de méthodes, d’instructions ou d’idées contenus lors du 80e Congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR. En raison notamment des progrès rapides dans le domaine des sciences médicales, un contrôle indépendant des diagnostics et de la posologie devrait être effectué.

Bien que le matériel de publicité sur place et en publication soit tenu de respecter les normes d’éthique du domaine médical, la présence lors de cet événement de tel matériel ne constitue nullement une garantie ou une attestation de la qualité ou de la valeur des produits, ni des allégations du fabricant ou de ses délégués à leur égard.