Projects

The mandate of the Canadian Radiological Foundation (CRF) is to fund projects which help to shape the future of radiology in Canada. In support of this directive, the CRF has sustained a wide range of activities over the years:

Research Studies

The CRF has financed the following research studies since 2011:

  • Can we Improve Detection of Peritoneal Metastatic Disease? The Use of Virtual Monochromatic Reconstruction on Dual Energy CT Scans (overview), investigated by Dr. Kathryn Darras 

    • Presented at UBC, CAR ASM 2016 and RSNA 2016

    • Study awarded 3rd Place at CAR ASM in the Radiologist-In-Training category and also at the UBC Department Research Day.

    • Paper submission to the CARJ and/or Abdominal Imaging (June 2017).

  • Utilization of Pre-Operative Imaging for Colon Cancer: a Population-based Study, investigated by Dr. Matthew McInnes, Dr. Sulaiman Nanji, Dr. William Mackillop, Dr. Yingwei Peng, Shelly Wei, Dr. D Blair Macdonald, Dr. Nicola Schieda and Dr. Christopher Booth

    • Presented at RSNA 2016 and CAR ASM 2017
    • Paper published in the Journal of Surgical Oncology in 2016

Reports and Guidelines

Leadership Courses

  • The CRF and the CAR finance Leadership Scholarships to attend the leadership programs provided by the Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) of the American College of Radiology (ACR):

  • In 2015, Dr. Stephen Choy, resident at the University of British Columbia and Dr. Carole Dennie, radiologist at the Ottawa Hospital attended the 2015 RLI Leadership Summit “Thriving in Changing Times”.

  • In 2016, Dr. Mitchell Wilson, resident at the University of Alberta attended the Harvard Emerging Leaders Webinar and Dr. Ania Kielar, radiologist at the Univeristy of Ottawa attended the RLI Leadership Summit "Meeting the Challenges of Modern Healthcare".

Awards

  • The CRF has financed the Canadian Association of Radiologists’ ASM Awards since 2012 in the following categories:

Archives

  • The CRF has initiated a project to catalogue, stabilize and preserve the archival materials (textual and visual records, sound recordings and artifacts) at the CAR office. It is important to document the history of our association and the practice of radiology in Canada to ensure it remains available for future generations of radiologists.

Projets

Le mandat de la Fondation radiologique canadienne (FRC) est de financer des projets qui contribuent à façonner l’avenir de la radiologie au Canada. En appui à cette directive, la FRC a soutenu plusieurs projets au cours des années :

Études de recherche

  • La FRC a subventionné les études de recherche suivantes depuis 2011 :
  • A double blind, randomized controlled trial examining the efficacy of the use of tissue plasminogen activator (tPA) in intra-abdominal collections in children – a prospective study (exposé général en anglais), menée par la Dre Bairbre Connolly.

  • A Day in the Life of MR in Canada - Profiling MR Appropriateness and Utilization in Canada (exposé général en anglais), menée par les Drs Paul Babyn et Sonia Vanderby en collaboration avec le Dr Martin Reed, le Dr Juan Nicolás Peña Sánchez et Neil Kalra

    • 2e article soumis au Journal de la CAR

    • Présenté au congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR en 2014

    • Présenté à la conférence CAHSPR en 2014

    • Présenté à l'University of Saskatchewan en 2014 et 2015

    • Présenté à l'International Conference on Residency Education en 2016

  • Utilization of Pre-Operative Imaging for Colon Cancer: a Population-based Study, menée par le Dr Matthew McInnes, le Dr Sulaiman Nanji, le Dr William Mackillop, le Dr Yingwei Peng, Shelly Wei, le Dr D Blair Macdonald, le Dr Nicola Schieda et le Dr Christopher Booth

    • Présenté à la conférence RSNA en 2016 et au au congrès scientifique annuel de la CAR en 2017

    • Article publié dans le journal Surgical Oncology en 2016

Rapports et Lignes Directrices

Cours de Leadership

  • La FRC et la CAR financent des Bourses de Leadership pour participer aux programmes de leadership offerts par le Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) de l’American College of Radiology (ACR) :

  • En 2015, le Dr Stephen Choy, résident à l'University of British Columbia et la Dre Carole Dennie, radiologiste à l'Ottawa Hospital ont participé au Sommet du RLI sur le Leadership de 2015 “Thriving in Changing Times”.

  • En 2016, le Dr Mitchell Wilson, résident à l'Univeristy of Alberta a participé au Wébinaire de Harvard pour les dirigeants en devenir et la Dre Ania Kielar, radiologiste à l'Univeristy of Ottawa a participé au Sommet du RLI sur le Leadership "Meeting the Challenges of Modern Healthcare".

Prix

  • La FRC a financé les prix du Congrès scientifique annuel de l’Association canadienne des radiologistes depuis 2012 dans les catégories suivantes :

Archives

  • La FRC a entamé un projet pour recenser, stabiliser et conserver les matériaux d'archives (documents textuels et visuels, enregistrements sonores et artéfacts) dans les bureaux de la CAR. Il est important de documenter l'histoire de notre association et la pratique de la radiologie au Canada, pour s'assurer que cela reste disponible pour les générations futures des radiologistes.