Winners of the Leadership Scholarships

The CAR and CRF would like to congratulate the following recipients of the 2017 CAR/CRF Leadership Scholarships:

Kirsteen Burton, MD, MBA, PGY-4

Dr. Kirsteen Burton is a fourth-year radiology resident at the University of Toronto. Prior to residency, she completed an MD at the University of Calgary, an MSc in epidemiology at the University of Toronto, and an MBA at Queen’s University. Dr. Burton’s current clinical interests are abdominal and fetal imaging. Her research focuses on improving health care delivery and outcomes through the development of high quality evidence; relatedly, Dr. Burton is an associate editor at the Canadian Medical Association Journal. Beyond professional activities, she enjoys cooking for family and friends, and playing squash.

Faisal Khosa, MD, MBA
Dr. Faisal Khosa is an assistant professor in the Department of Radiology at Vancouver General Hospital, University of British Columbia. Dr. Khosa has been awarded numerous educational, clinical service and research awards, including the American Roentgen Ray Scholarship (2013-2016), the One in One Hundred Mentor Award (2014) and the Outstanding Young Investigator Award in USA (2015). He received the "Medal of Excellence" (Tamgha-i-Imtiaz) from the Government of Pakistan and The College of Physicians and Surgeons Award for 15 years of “Outstanding Service to Medicine” in Pakistan.

Dr. Khosa is Board certified in radiology in the USA, Canada and Europe and has completed extensive training in radiology, including a residency in diagnostic radiology in Ireland. He completed the IMG Alternate Pathway – Diagnostic Radiology Certification for the USA and Canada, which included: clinical fellowships in oncoradiology, cardiovascular imaging, emergency radiology, body MRI and neuroradiology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Centre, Harvard Medical School. He subsequently received a scholarship for an MBA in which he opted for Leadership as his major.

Carlos Torres MD, FRCPC
Dr. Carlos Torres has been an associate professor of radiology at The University of Ottawa and a staff neuroradiologist at The Ottawa Hospital since 2008. Dr. Torres completed a two-year neuroradiology fellowship at McGill University in Montreal before joining the Department of Diagnostic Imaging at The Ottawa Hospital in Ottawa.

From 2010 to 2016, Dr. Torres was the Director of the Royal College Accredited Neuroradiology Fellowship Program. He has been the director and co-director of more than a dozen CME Courses in Europe, North America and Latin America and he is currently the chair of the International Scientific Committee for the Ibero Latin American Society of Neuroradiology (SILAN).

Dr. Torres lectures extensively nationally and internationally and has been invited to speak at meetings held by the RSNA, CAR, the American Roentgen Ray Society, the American Society of Neuroradiology, the American Society of Spine Radiology, American Society of Emergency Radiology and The Eastern Neuroradiological Society. He is an International Visiting Professor for RSNA and for the Inter American College of Radiology (CIR). He has been Visiting Professor in different academic centres in Canada and abroad including Brazil, Colombia, El Salvador, Chile, Bhutan, China and Mongolia.

Dr. Torres is actively involved in medical education and research. He has multiple peer-reviewed publications and has written ten book chapters. He is Associate Editor of the journal 3D Printing in Medicine and a member of the Editorial Board of the RSNA Daily Bulletin.

 


The CRF and the CAR financed Leadership Scholarships to attend the leadership programs provided by the Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) of the American College of Radiology (ACR):

 

  • In 2016, Dr. Mitchell Wilson, resident at the Univeristy of Alberta attended the Harvard Emerging Leaders Webinar and Dr. Ania Kielar, radiologist at the Univeristy of Ottawa will attend the 2016 RLI Leadership Summit "Meeting the Challenges of Modern Healthcare".
  • In 2015, Dr. Stephen Choy, resident at the University of British Columbia and Dr. Carole Dennie, radiologist at the Ottawa Hospital attended the 2015 RLI Leadership Summit “Thriving in Changing Times”.

Lauréats des bourses de leadership

La CAR et la FRC souhaitent féliciter les lauréats des bourses de leardership de la CAR et de la FRC :

Kirsteen Burton, M. D., MBA, 4 années de formation postdoctorale
La docteure en médecine Kirsteen Burton est une résidente de quatrième année en radiologie à l’Université de Toronto. Avant de faire sa résidence, elle a obtenu un doctorat en médecine à l’Université de Calgary, une maîtrise en sciences (épidémiologie) à l’Université de Toronto et une maîtrise en administration des affaires à l’Université Queen’s. Kirsteen Burton s’intéresse actuellement à l’imagerie abdominale et fœtale dans le cadre de sa pratique clinique. Sa méthodologie de recherche repose sur l’analyse systémique, la méta-analyse et les résultats des services de santé. En dehors de ses activités professionnelles, Kirsteen Burton aime jouer au squash, découvrir le monde à vélo et cuisiner pour sa famille et ses amis.

Faisal Khosa, M. D., MBA
Le Dr Faisal Khosa est professeur adjoint au département de radiologie de l’Hôpital général de Vancouver, à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique. Il a reçu de nombreuses subventions et distinctions pour ses études, sa pratique clinique et ses recherches, dont la bourse American Roentgen Ray Scholarship (2013-2016), le prix One in One Hundred Mentor (2014) et le prestigieux Prix du jeune chercheur aux États-Unis (2015). Il s’est vu décerner la « médaille d’excellence » (Tamgha-i-Imtiaz) par le gouvernement du Pakistan et un prix du College of Physicians and Surgeons pour ses 15 années de contribution remarquable à la médecine au Pakistan.

Faisal Khosa détient un permis d’exercice en radiologie aux États-Unis, au Canada et en Europe. Il a suivi une formation approfondie en radiologie, dont une résidence en radiologie diagnostique qu’il a effectuée en Irlande. Il a obtenu la certification en radiologie diagnostique d’IMG Alternate Pathway pour les États-Unis et le Canada et a reçu, dans le cadre de cette certification, des bourses d’études cliniques en oncoradiologie, en imagerie cardiovasculaire, en radiologie d’urgence, en IRM du corps et en neuroradiologie du Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Centre de la faculté de médecine de l’Université Harvard. On lui a ensuite octroyé une bourse pour effectuer une maîtrise en administration des affaires, dans le cadre de laquelle il a choisi une spécialisation en leadership.

Carlos Torres, M. D., FRCPC
Le Dr Carlos Torres est professeur agrégé de radiologie à l’Université d’Ottawa et membre de l’équipe de neuroradiologistes de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa depuis 2008. Il a obtenu une bourse de deux années en neuroradiologie à l’Université McGill de Montréal avant de se joindre au département d’imagerie diagnostique de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa.

De 2010 à 2016, Carlos Torres a dirigé le programme de bourses d’études spécialisées en neuroradiologie reconnu par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Il a dirigé et codirigé plus d’une douzaine de formations médicales continues en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et en Amérique latine, et il préside actuellement le comité scientifique international de l’Ibero Latin American Society of Neuroradiology (SILAN).

Carlos Torres donne beaucoup de conférences au Canada et à l’étranger et est invité à s’exprimer lors de réunions tenues par la Radiological Society of North America (RSNA), la CAR, l’American Roentgen Ray Society, l’American Society of Neuroradiology, l’American Society of Spine Radiology, l’American Society of Emergency Radiology et l’Eastern Neuroradiological Society. Il est professeur international invité de la RSNA et de l’Inter American College of Radiology (CIR). Il a également été professeur invité dans différents centres d’enseignement au Canada et à l’étranger, comme au Brésil, en Colombie, au Salvador, au Chili, au Bhutan, en Chine et en Mongolie.

Carlos Torres participe activement à des activités de formation et de recherche médicales. Il a publié de multiples articles évalués par des pairs et a écrit dix chapitres de livre. Il est rédacteur adjoint de la revue 3D Printing in Medicine et fait partie du comité de rédaction du bulletin quotidien de la RSNA.


La FRC et la CAR ont financé des Bourses de Leadership pour participer aux programmes de leadership offerts par le Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) de l’American College of Radiology (ACR) :

  • En 2016, le Dr Mitchell Wilson, résident à l'Univeristy of Alberta a participé au Wébinaire de Harvard pour les dirigeants en devenir et la Dre Ania Kielar, radiologiste à l'Univeristy of Ottawa participera au Sommet du RLI sur le Leadership de 2016 "Meeting the Challenges of Modern Healthcare".
  • En 2015, le Dr Stephen Choy, résident à l'University of British Columbia et la Dre Carole Dennie, radiologiste à l'Ottawa Hospital ont participé au Sommet du RLI sur le Leadership de 2015 “Thriving in Changing Times”.