CAR History

G RichardThe CAR was formed in 1937, on January 4th and 5th, when Dr. Gordon Richards (1885–1949) invited all radiologists in Canada to a meeting at the Toronto General Hospital. At that meeting, Dr. Richards declined the presidency and it was the unanimous opinion that his founder's role transcended the governance of the CAR.

The main officers were:

President: Dr. William A. Jones (until 1939), from Kingston
Vice-President: Dr. Ernest Gendreau from Montréal (became president in 1939–1941)
Secretary: Dr. Arthur C. Singleton from Toronto (became president in 1948)

Overview

From the outset there was broad representation by regional councilors. By 1938, the object of the association was identified as being to "promote the interests of Radiology with special reference to the following aspects: clinical, educational, ethical and economic".

In January 1945, the association contained 148 members and by 1952, the membership had increased to 297 radiologists. In 1948, the national headquarters of the CAR was established in Montreal and the association incorporated. By 1959, there were 516 members in all categories and by 1968, 733 members.

From the earliest times, Canadian radiologists have played a role in continental organizations. Dr. G.P. Girdwood (1832–1917) of Montreal, referred to as the father of radiology in Canada, was a founding member of the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) and served as its president in 1902. Dr. Girdwood had been in the audience when Professor Owen Cox (1851–1923) showed the first clinical radiograph made in Canada, in Montreal, in February 8, 1896. He was to become the first radiologist at the Montreal General Hospital.

By August 1962, the CAR found itself hosting the 10th International Congress of Radiology in Montreal under the presidency of Dr. Arthur Singleton, one of our founders back in 1937. Fifty-five countries were represented at the Congress. Canada had 51 speakers, but radiologists coming from as far afield as Argentina, India, Israel, Japan, Peru, Turkey, USSR and Yugoslavia must have created a truly international sense. At this meeting, the distinguished Canadian radiologist, Dr. Singleton, received the American College of Radiology Gold Medal.

The CAR, through its representatives to the International Society of Radiology (ISR), has continued to play a role in world radiological affairs. As the national specialty society for diagnostic radiology, the CAR is recognized both within and outside the medical profession as the official voice of Canadian radiology.

Past Presidents

CAR logo

Designed in 1998 by Elaine Emond of Montreal. The C and the R are shown on contrasting backgrounds, corresponding to positive and negative images representing the flexibility and variability now standard in diagnostic imaging. The A is rotated to assume the shape of the eye, emphasizing the visual skills of the radiologist and recalling the ancient Egyptian symbol of healing and protection.

L'historique

G RichardLa CAR a été fondée les 4 et 5 janvier 1937, lorsque le Dr Gordon Richards (1885–1949) a invité tous les radiologistes du Canada à participer à un congrès au Toronto General Hospital. Au cours de cette assemblée, le Dr Richards a refusé le poste de président. Il a alors été décidé à l’unanimité que son rôle de fondateur transcendait la simple direction de la CAR. [images/g_richard.jpg]

Les principaux membres du conseil étaient les suivants :

Président : Dr William A. Jones, de Kingston (jusqu’en 1939);
Vice-président : Dr Ernest Gendreau, de Montréal (président de 1939 à 1941);
Secrétaire : Dr Arthur C. Singleton, de Toronto (fait président en 1948).

Dès le départ, les régions ont été largement représentées au sein du conseil. En 1938, l’Association s’était fixé un objectif : promouvoir les intérêts de la radiologie en portant une attention particulière à ses aspects cliniques, pédagogiques, éthiques et économiques.

En janvier 1945, l’Association comptait 148 membres; en 1952, ce chiffre avait augmenté à 297. En 1948, le siège social national de la CAR a été établi à Montréal et l’Association a été incorporée. En 1959, elle regroupait 516 membres et, en 1968, son effectif était passé à 733.

Les radiologistes canadiens ont toujours été actifs au sein des organisations nord-américaines. Le Dr G. P. Girdwood (1832–1917), de Montréal, considéré comme le père de la radiologie au Canada, est l’un des membres fondateurs de l’American Roentgen Ray Society, dont il a assuré la présidence en 1902. Il se trouvait dans l’auditoire quand Owen Cox (1851–1923) a présenté la première radiographie clinique prise au Canada, le 8 février 1896 à Montréal. Il allait plus tard devenir le premier radiologiste à l’Hôpital général de Montréal.

En août 1962, la CAR a accueilli le 10e Congrès international de radiologie, qui s’est tenu à Montréal sous la présidence du Dr Arthur Singleton, l’un des fondateurs de l’Association en 1937. Des représentants de 55 pays ont assisté au Congrès. Le Canada comptait 51 conférenciers, mais la présence de radiologistes provenant de pays aussi éloignés que l’Argentine, l’Inde, Israël, le Japon, le Pérou, la Turquie, l’URSS et la Yougoslavie a contribué à donner au Congrès une envergure internationale. Lors de cette assemblée, le Dr Singleton, éminent radiologiste canadien, a reçu la médaille d’or de l’American College of Radiology.

Par l’intermédiaire de ses représentants affiliés à la Société internationale de radiologie, la CAR demeure un acteur important sur la scène internationale. À titre de société pancanadienne de spécialistes en radiologie diagnostique, la CAR est reconnue comme la porte-parole officielle de la radiologie canadienne, tant au sein de la communauté médicale qu’à l’extérieur.

Anciens présidents


 

Conçu en 1998 par Elaine Emond. Le C et le R correspondent aux images positives et négatives représentant la flexibilité et la variabilité courantes en imagerie diagnostique. Le A adopte la forme d'un oeil, mettant l'accent sur les habiletés visuelles du radiologue et rappelant l'ancien symbole égyptien de la guérison et de la protection.